Resources

Below are just some of the great online resources with information about preservation and landmark interiors.

Interior Landmark Sites
The Apollo Theater www.apollotheater.org
Brooklyn Historical Society www.brooklynhistory.org
Merchant’s House Museum www.merchantshouse.org
Snug Harbor Cultural Center and Botanical Garden www.snug-harbor.org
The Shubert Organization http://www.shubert.nyc/

Preservation Advocates:
Art Deco Society of New York www.artdeco.org
Columbia University, Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation. Historic Preservation www.arch.columbia.edu/programs/historic-preservation
The Beaux Arts Alliance www.beauxarts.org
Docomomo www.docomomo-us.org
Friends of the Upper East Side Historic Districts www.friends-ues.org
The Greenwich Village Society for Historic Preservation www.gvshp.org
Historic Districts Council www.hdc.org
Historic House Trust www.historichousetrust.org
Institute of Classical Architecture & Art www.classicist.org
NYC Landmarks 50 Alliance www.landmarks50.org
Landmark West! www.landmarkwest.org
Municipal Art Society www.mas.org
The Victorian Society of New York www.vicsocny.org
Neighborhood Preservation Center www.neighborhoodpreservationcenter.org
The New York Landmarks Conservancy www.nylandmarks.org
Landmarks Preservation Commission www.NYC.gov/landmarks
The New York Preservation Archive Project www.nypap.org

Related Exhibitions:
Saving Place: Fifty Years of New York City Landmarks http://www.mcny.org/exhibition/saving-place

Cultural Institutions:
Museum of the City of New York www.mcny.org
The Skyscraper Museum www.skyscraper.org
Open House New York www.ohny.org
New York Harbor Parks www.nyharborparks.org
New York Transit Museum web.mta.info/mta/museum/

NYSID_Logo_160pxH

CHANGING USE: THE DILEMMA OF LANDMARK INTERIORS

Wednesday, March 25, 6pm

Hugh Hardy, H3 Hardy Collaboration Architecture; Kitty Hawks, interior designer; and Justin Davidson, architectural critic, will join New York magazine design editor Wendy Goodman in a provocative discussion about the problems faced in preserving landmark interiors in an era of changing needs and a city committed to the pursuit of the new. Register here.

RESCUED, RESTORED, REIMAGINED: NEW YORK’S LANDMARK INTERIORS

Exhibition on view at the New York School of Interior Design Gallery through April 24th. 161 East 69th Street; Tuesday - Saturday, 11am - 6pm. Admission is free. Learn more.

FIND MORE LANDMARK RELATED EVENTS @ NYC LANDMARKS50

A city-wide celebration of the the 50th anniversary of New York City’s Landmarks Preservation Commission, with many events, exhibitions, and programs staged by public and private organizations around the city. Visit nyclandmarks50.org.